Research SIG

The Research SIG is designed for Georgia’s economic development professionals who have research as a portion of their job responsibilities. The SIG gathers two to three times a year to network and learn from each other about data, resources, and methods to support best practice economic development research.


Learn more about your statewide economic development research resources available via:

Electric Cities of Georgia
Contact:
Michelle Holbrook, Manager, External Affairs
mholbrook@ecoga.org
770-661-2768

Selma Dogic, Market Research Analyst
sdogic@locationgeorgia.com
770-661-2806


Georgia EMC
Contact:
Ricky McGee, Manager, Technical Services
Ricky.McGee@GeorgiaEMC.com
404-521-7620

Shaun Dodson, Site Design Specialist
Shaun.Dodson@GeorgiaEMC.com
404-521-7622


Georgia Power 
Contact:
Jennifer Zeller, Support Services Manager
jzeller@southernco.com
404-506-2226

Tracey Ussery, Research Team Lead
tgussery@southernco.com
404-506-1529


Georgia Department of Economic Development 
Contact:
Dana Brewer, Director of Research
dbrewer@georgia.org
404-962-4181

David Denison, Project Analyst and Georgia InSite Administrator
ddenison@georgia.org
404-962-4037


Learn more about the primary government sources of economic, workforce, and demographic data:

Georgia Department of Labor, Labor Market Explorer
Contact:
Faye Duzan, Workforce Statistics & Economic Research
Faye.Duzan@gdol.ga.gov
404-232-4906


Learn more about some of the Georgia university resources in economic development:
Armstrong State University
University of Georgia
Georgia Institute of Technology
Georgia State University
Kennesaw State University
Valdosta State University
University of West Georgia

For more information, contact Research SIG Chair, Tracey Ussery.


2018 Action Plan

  • Broaden participation and discussion by creating a SIG with GEDA members from across the state. Meet after monthly GEDA meetings.
  • Provide program for one GEDA monthly luncheon (“Film” was the topic for 2017)
  • Host one continuing education segment on forms of “non-traditional” economic development at the 2018 GEDA Spring Workshop or Annual Conference.
  • SIG will provide two (2) articles to GEDA staff to publish on web site and/or in GEDA newsletter.